Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

84 Apply for Nation’s Top Honor for Excellence

From NIST Tech Beat: June 8, 2007

Bookmark and Share

Contact: Michael E. Newman

Eighty-four organizations have started down the path they hope will lead to their being honored with the 2007 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest recognition for excellence. Applicants include two manufacturers, four service companies, seven small businesses, 16 educational organizations, 42 health care organizations -- and in a category in which the Presidential award may be given for the first time—13 nonprofits/governmental organizations.

The 84 applicants will be evaluated rigorously by an independent board of examiners in seven areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce focus; process management; and results. Examiners provide each applicant with a wealth of feedback on strengths and opportunities for improvement.

The 2007 Baldrige award recipients are expected to be announced in November.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. The award promotes excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. The award is not given for specific products or services. Since 1988, 67 organizations have received Baldrige Awards.

For more information on the Baldrige award program, see http://baldrige.nist.gov.