Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Bookmark and Share

NIST Gallery of Distinguished Scientists, Engineers and Administrators

2015 Portrait Gallery Inductees
The new honorees (seated from left): Ared Cezairliyan, represented by his son Brent Cezairliyan; Donna Harman; Michael Kurylo; Barbara Lippiatt; Francis Lovas; and Clayton Teague. The presenters (standing from left): David Lide, Charles Romine, Pamela Chu, Robert Chapman, Angela Hight Walker, and Kevin Jurrens. Honoree Robert Cutkosky and his presenter Jon Pratt were unavailable for this photograph.
Credit: Denease Anderson/NIST

The NIST Portrait Gallery of Distinguished Scientists, Engineers and Administrators honors NBS/NIST alumni for outstanding career contributions to the work of NBS/NIST. Portraits and biographies of those selected are displayed in the corridor of the NIST cafeteria at Gaithersburg, and in the Digital Portrait Gallery at NIST Gaithersburg and NIST Boulder sites. No more than ten additional persons will be added to the Portrait Gallery in 2016.

The current list of Portrait Gallery honorees is available at http://www.nist.gov/director/saa/upload/Portrait-Gallery-2015.pdf

Any current or former NBS/NIST staff member may nominate a candidate for the Portrait Gallery. Nominations are welcome for alumni who were scientists, engineers or administrators.

Candidates who have been nominated in previous years, but not selected, may be nominated again, but no candidate may be nominated in more than two successive years. For example, candidates may again be nominated in a fourth year or later, so long as they are not nominated in more than two successive years. Re-submission should be seen as an opportunity for the nominator to improve the nomination of a worthy candidate.

Nomination instructions and an example are available from the Standards Alumni Association (SAA), Room A-42 Admin, Mail Stop 0952, NIST, Gaithersburg, MD 20899-0952; telephone 301-975-2486; by email: alumni@nist.gov; or from the SAA website: http://www.nist.gov/director/saa/.

Nominations shall be received by the Standards Alumni Association on or before February 5, 2016, by email or by mail to the above addresses. No exceptions will be made to this deadline.