Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Sign up to receive news about NIST Forensic Science and OSAC.

Follow NIST

Special Programs Office
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 4701
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8102
301-975-2756 or

Forensic Science Standards Board

The Forensic Science Standards Board serves as the Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSAC) governing board and supports the organization by overseeing operations of all resource committees, scientific area committees and subcommittees; approving standards for listing on the OSAC Registry of Approved Standards; and facilitating communication within OSAC and between OSAC and the forensic science community.

See the June 26, 2014 news release: NIST Names Members to First Forensic Science Standards Board

Research representatives

  • Jose Almirall, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Director of the International Forensic Research Institute, Florida International University
  • Anil Jain, Ph.D., distinguished professor, Michigan State University
  • Karen Kafadar, Ph.D., Department of Statistics professor and chair, University of Virginia
  • Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D., Forensic Science Department chair, Sam Houston State University
  • Douglas Ubelaker, Ph.D., curator, Smithsonian Institution, National Museum of Natural History, Division of Physical Anthropology

Professional Association Representatives

  • Andrew Baker, M.D., National Association of Medical Examiners, standards committee chair; Hennepin County Medical Examiner, Minn.
  • Laurel Farrell, Society of Forensic Toxicologists, director and past president; American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors/Laboratory Accreditation Board, Senior Accreditation Program Manager.
  • Steven Johnson, International Association for Identification, past president; Ideal Innovations Inc., certified latent print examiner/facial examiner
  • Mark Keisler, Association of Firearm and Tool Mark Examiners past president and member-at-large; Indiana State Police Laboratory, Forensic Firearms Identification Unit supervisor 
  • Barry Logan, Ph.D., American Academy of Forensic Sciences, past president; NMS Labs, vice president of Forensic Science Initiatives and chief of Forensic Toxicology
  • Jeremy Triplett, American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors, advocacy committee chair; Kentucky State Police Forensic Laboratory supervisor

Scientific Area Committee (SAC) chairs:

  • Richard Vorder Bruegge, Ph.D., SAC Digital/Multimedia; Federal Bureau of Investigation, senior photographic technologist
  • Gregory Davis, M.D., SAC Crime Scene/Death Investigation; University of Alabama at Birmingham, professor, division director, and chief coroner/medical examiner
  • George Herrin Jr., Ph.D., SAC Biology/DNA; Georgia Bureau of Investigation, Division of Forensic Science deputy director
  • Austin Hicklin, SAC Physics/Pattern Interpretation; Noblis, biometrics and forensic science fellow
  • Scott Oulton, SAC Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis; Drug Enforcement Administration, associate deputy assistant administrator

NIST Ex Officio member: Mark Stolorow, Director of OSAC Affairs

FSSB Roles and Responsibilities

Updated: April 1, 2015