Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Sign up to receive news about NIST Forensic Science and OSAC.

Follow NIST

Special Programs Office
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 4701
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8102
301-975-2756 or

Human Factors Committee

 Human Factors Resource Committee members
Dec. 11-12, 2014: Members of the OSAC Human Factors Resource Committee held their first meeting at NIST in Gaithersburg, Md. Left to right: Scott Shappell, William Thompson, Itiel Dror (resigned), Cleotilde Gonzalez, Erin Morris, Brian Stanton, Dan Simon and Chris Meissner. Photo: NIST

July 16, 2014NIST Names Members of Forensic Science Resource Committees

The Human Factors Committee provides guidance throughout the OSAC on the influence of systems design on human performance and on ways to mitigate errors in complex tasks.

Human Factors Committee roles and responsibilities

resource-coms-slice-webCommittee Members

  • William C. Thompson, Ph.D., Professor of Criminology, Law, and Society and Psychology and Social Behavior and Law, University of California Irvine, Committee Chair
  • Deborah A. Boehm-Davis, Ph.D., Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, George Mason University
  • Cleotilde Gonzalez, Ph.D., Associate Research Professor of Decision Sciences, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Christian A. Meissner, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, Iowa State University
  • Erin Morris, Ph.D., Behavioral Sciences Research Analyst, Los Angeles County Public Defender
  • D. Michael Risinger, Seton Hall University School of Law
  • Sunita Sah, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Strategy, Economics, Ethics and Public Policy at Georgetown University McDonough School of Business
  • Scott Shappell, Ph.D., Human Factors and Systems Department Chair, Emory-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Dan Simon, Professor of Law and Psychology, University of Southern California, Gould School of Law, and Department of Psychology
  • Brian C. Stanton, cognitive scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology