Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

Bookmark and Share

About the Engineering Physics Division

The Engineering Physics Division (EPD), formerly known as the Semiconductor and Dimensional Metrology Division, combines the efforts of the former Semiconductor Electronics Division (formed in 1955) and the former Mechanical Metrology Division (formed in 2010). 

The Division, with a staff of about 140 including full-time and part-time employees as well as guest researchers, post-doctoral associates, and contractors, is based in Gaithersburg, Maryland. The Division operates within the Physical Measurements Laboratory at NIST. The Division's technical activities are organized into five groups: the Dimensional Metrology Group, the Surface and Nanostructure Metrology Group, the Nanoscale Metrology Group, the Nanoelectronics Group and the CMOS and Novel Devices Group.

The Division, in cooperation with the National Research Council (NRC), offers competitive awards for post-doctoral research for U.S. citizens in a variety of technical fields related to the semiconductor electronics and dimensional metrology.