Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo

NIST Staff Honored in 2007 Presidential Rank Awards

For Immediate Release: October 25, 2007

Bookmark and Share

Contact: Michael Baum

Four members of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) staff have been honored in the 2007 Presidential Rank Awards. The awards recognize exceptional long-term accomplishments in public service by career senior government executives. There are two categories of rank awards: Distinguished and Meritorious. This year’s Distinguished category honoree is Charles W. Clark of the NIST Physics Laboratory and the NIST-University of Maryland Joint Quantum Institute (JQI). Honorees in the Meritorious category are Richard F. Kayser Jr., NIST Acting Deputy Director, William J. Boettinger of the NIST Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory, and Paul S. Julienne of the NIST Physics Laboratory and JQI.

Award winners are nominated by their agency heads, evaluated by boards of private citizens, and approved by the President. The evaluation criteria focus on leadership and results. See http://www.opm.gov/ses/performance/presrankawards.asp.