NIST logo

Cooperative Research and Development Agreement (CRADA)

Purpose

CRADAs are partnering tools allowing federal laboratories to work with US industries, academia and other organizations on cooperative R&D projects. CRADAs provide flexibility in structuring project contributions, intellectual property rights, and in protecting proprietary information and CRADA research results.

Procedure

CRADAs originate with the specific NIST scientist(s) that would be involved in the collaboration. If the NIST scientist(s) agrees that collaboration would be in the best interests of all parties, a NIST Principal Investigator develops a Statement of Work with the other partner(s).

The NIST Principal Investigator next prepares an Approval memo with attached Statement of Work, and routes it through the laboratory management chain for review and approval. If approved, the memo is forwarded to the Office of Technology Partnerships. A CRADA Officer then contacts the partner(s) to discuss the CRADA. After an Agreement is reached, the CRADA Officer prepares and routes signature copies to partner(s) and within NIST.

CRADA Consortia

NIST may work on a technology useful to many within an industry. NIST publicly announces its desire to form a consortium to develop the technology mutually with interested firms. The following CRADA Consortia are available for participation. NIST contact phone numbers and e-mail addresses are provided for further information.

Active NIST-Led Consortia

CHARACTERIZATION AND MODELING OF POLYMERS FOR PHOTOVOLTAIC SYSTEMS CONSORTIUM
Joannie Chin, joannie.chin@nist.gov

CHARACTERIZATION/MODELING OF SURFACE/INTERFACE OF POLYMERIC MATERIALS & SYSTEMS CONSORTIUM
Lipiin Sung, li-piin.sung@nist.gov

CONCRETE RHEOLOGY: ENABLING METROLOGY (CREME CONSORTIUM)
Chiara Ferraris, chiara.ferraris@nist.gov

DEVELOPING STANDARD REQUIREMENTS FOR FATIGUE PERFORMANCE OF TRANSVENOUS CARDIAC PACING AND DEFIBRILLATION LEADS CONSORTIUM
Timothy Quinn, timothy.quinn@nist.gov  

DEVELOPMENT AND VALIDATION OF NEUTRON-BASED CHARACTERIZATION METHODS FOR MORPHOLOGY AND TOPOLOGY OF SOFT MATERIALS (nSOFT) CONSORTIUM
Ronald Jones, ronald.jones@nist.gov  

NIST METROLOGY INTEROPERABILITY TESTBED (MIT) CONSORTIUM
John Horst, john.horst@nist.gov  

PUBLIC SAFETY 700 MHz BROADBAND DEMONSTRATION CONSORTIUM
Emil Olbrich, emil.olbrich@nist.gov  

SERVICE LIFE PREDICTION METHODOLOGIES AND METROLOGIES FOR BUILDING JOINT SEALANT CONSORTIUM
Christopher White, cwhite@nist.gov  

VIRTUAL CEMENT AND CONCRETE TESTING LABORATORY CONSORTIUM (VCCTL)
Edward Garboczi, edward.garboczi@nist.gov  

THEREMOPHYSICAL AND THERMOCHEMICAL PROPERTY DATA COLLECTION, MANAGEMENT, CRITICAL EVALUATION, AND PREDICTION FOR CHEMISTRY AND CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (TRC CONSORTIUM)
Michael Frenkel, michael.frenkel@nist.gov  

*

Forms

  • Standard CRADA Template
  • The forms on this page are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print. This software may be downloaded without charge. If Adobe Acrobat Reader is not accessible, you may request a paper copy from the Webmaster. Forms may be downloaded and distributed.
FAQ
Contact
Office of Technology Partnerships
CRADA Administrator

100 Bureau Drive
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-2200

301-975-2573 Telephone
301-975-3482 Facsimile
ipp@nist.gov